Alaska uses a Tort insurance system – if you are found at fault in an accident, you have to pay for the medical bills of all parties involved, as well as reimburse everyone for their property damage or losses.
Alaska has some of the highest Liability requirements in the United States. The minimum insurance should be of 50/100/25:
The mean Liability policy in Alaska in 2011 was of $1,488.29, which is somewhat lower than the national average of $1,677.98. The insurance in some noteworthy cities is of $2,095 in Anchorage, $1,716 in Sitka, $1,478 in Ketchikan, $1,946 in Fairbanks and $1,452 in Juneau.
Alaska is one of the twenty-five states that have taken stance against texting while driving. Text messaging is prohibited for all categories of drivers, and getting caught doing it can result in harsh fines. There is no ban on the use of cellphone devices altogether though, but the known recommendations are on – use a hands-free device!
Teenagers in Alaska may get a learner’s permit once they turn 14. Known Graduated Driver License restrictions apply:
Upon the first offense, your driver’s license will be suspended for 90 days. Second-time offenders risk losing their license for one year.