Liability insurance is mandatory in Delaware. The minimum requirements are of 15/30/10:
The average Liability insurance in Delaware costs, on average, very close to the national mean figure – $1.674 in Delaware and $1.678 country-wide. Insurance is more expensive in major cities – $2,338 in Wilmington, $1,942 in Dover, $2,053 in Bear, $2,448 in Hockessin, $2,213 in Middletown and $1,930 in Seaford.
Delaware is one of the 25 states that is taking stance against the use of cellphones when driving. Bus drivers aren’t allowed to use cellphones altogether, and neither are beginning drivers (with less than one year of driving experience). All other drivers must use a hands-free system with their cellphones.
Delaware uses the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system, a concept meant to minimize the risk of inexperienced drivers getting involved in accidents. Teenagers must carry a learner’s permit for one year before they can apply for a full-fledged driver’s license. Several restrictions apply for kids with provisional licenses:
If you cancel your insurance policy or let it lapse, the company has to notify the Department of Motor Vehicles in DE. Should they determine that you have been driving without insurance, you will be $100 per vehicle and asked to surrender your registration and tags. If you fail to comply within 30 days, you will be charged another $5.00 per day until you do it, purchase another insurance policy or the tags expire.
If you get pulled over and are unable to provide proof of insurance, you risk a fine starting at $1,500 for the first occurrence and $3,000 from the second one onwards, as well as suspension of your driver’s license for up to half a year.