Illinois follows a Tort insurance system, which means that whoever is found at-fault for causing an accident must pay for the damages as well as the medical bills of every injured passenger or pedestrian involved.
The mean insurance in Illinois costs $909, which is much lower than the national average of $1,678. More expensive cities are to be found: Liability costs $1,290 in Chicago, $1,008 in Rockford, $1,178 in Aurora, $1,132 in Joliet and slightly above $1,000 in Springfield.
Text-based communications while operating a vehicle are banned state-wide. New drivers under 18, as well as school bus drivers, aren’t allowed to use cellphones altogether. All other traffic participants must use hands-free devices when making or answering a call.
Illinois uses the Graduated Driver License (GDL) system, a concept meant to keep high-risk situations down to a bare minimum for young and inexperienced drivers. GDL is meant for drivers between 15 and 17 and comes with several restrictions:
Driving uninsured or without enough insurance is a petty offense that is sanctioned with a fine between $500 and $1,000 upon conviction. You may also have your license suspended for up to three months, after which you will be required to pay a reinstatement fee of $100.
If you cause an accident when driving without insurance you could be charged with a Class A misdemeanor, resulting in a maximum fine of $2,500 and up to one year of prison time.