Kansas follows a No-Fault insurance system, which means that your insurance company will pay for your medical bills and vehicle repair costs regardless of who was at fault in the accident.
Additionally, you will have to purchase a Personal Injury Protection insurance of at least $4,500 and a Work Loss coverage of at least $900.
The current average car insurance premium in Kansas is of $1,002. However, the price you are going to pay depends on where you live, as large metropolitan areas are much more expensive than the average figures. Insurance may cost, for instance, an average of $1,714 in Wichita, $1,588 in Overland Park, $1,344 in Lawrence, $1,440 in Topeka or $1,347 in Hutchinson.
Text-based communication when operating a vehicle has been banned by the Kansas Senate Bill 351. Moreover, new drivers may not use cellphones altogether until they get a regular driver’s license.
Kansas uses the Graduated Driver License system for aspiring drivers between 14 and 16 years old. By the time they get their full-fledged license, kids may not drive unaccompanied – an adult with a valid driver’s license must be always present in the passenger’s seat. They may only drive unattended to and from work or school, and a waiver must be obtained.
Once the Driver Control Bureau receives notice of your conviction, they will require that you maintain a SR22 certificate for twelve consecutive months. You will also be fined between $300 and $1,000 for a first violation and between $800 and $2,500 for all subsequent ones. Moreover, you will have to pay all reinstatement fees and court fines.