Kentucky uses a Choice No-Fault insurance system, which means that drivers may drop the No-Fault option and be allowed to sue for material compensation following an auto accident, just like in a regular Tort state.
Should the driver opt for the No-Fault alternative, an additional Personal Injury Protection policy of at least $10,000 must be bought.
The current average insurance premium in Kentucky is of $1,724, a bit higher than the national average of $1,678. Some major cities are cheaper than average, such as Bowling with $1,552, Henderson with $1,571, Lexington with $1,595, Covington with $1,277, Hopkinsville with $1,334, Richmond with $1,491 or Owensboro with $1,602, while others are much more expensive, like Pippa with $2,013, Louisville with $1,969.
The Kentucky Senate has ruled that no driver is allowed to engage in text-based communication while operating a vehicle. Moreover, young drivers under 18, as well as bus drivers, may not use a cellphone altogether when driving a car.
Kentucky uses a Graduated Driver Licensing system that allows young future drivers to learn and experience driving on public roads with as little risk as possible. The system is open to all aspiring drivers of at least 16 years old.
The only restrictions teen drivers have in Kentucky is that their licenses get suspended after seven points on their driving record (for drivers under 18) or twelve (for ones between 18 and 21).
Long story short, penalties for driving without insurance in Kentucky can be quite harsh: upon a first offense, you will be sent to court and fined between $500 and $1,000 or be sent to prison for up to 90 days or both. Your vehicle registration and tags can be suspended for up to one year, or by the time you show proof of insurance. Your license may also be suspended for up to one year, and the penalties increase for all subsequent violations.