Utah uses a No-Fault insurance system. Your insurance carrier will reimburse you for your material losses and take care of your medical expenses — up to a specified limit — regardless of who was at fault in the accident.
The average insurance cost across the state is of $1,406, which is lower than the national average of $1,678. Rates vary across the state and, in general, the larger the city, the more its residents will pay for auto insurance. Here are some samples: Provo: $1,270, Sandy: $1,599, West Valley City: $1,668, Ogden: $1,489, Saint George: $1,411, Taylorsville: $1,701, West Jordan: $1,671, Orem: $1,507, Salt Lake City: $1,402.
The Utah Senate has put a ban on all forms of text-based communication from behind the wheel. Moreover, new drivers aren’t allowed to use cellphones altogether while operating a vehicle. No further restrictions are in place.
Utah teenagers may join the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program once they are 15. Aspiring drivers with a Learner’s Permit will have to face some restrictions by the time they get their unrestricted license:
Even though it is classified as a traffic violation, driving without insurance in Utah is also a class B misdemeanor. Penalties can include jail time of up to 180 days, upwards of $1,000 in penalties and surcharges and, most likely, a SR-22 requirement.
Penalties for being unable to show proof of insurance are basically the same as not having any, so it’s imperative that you carry the insurance card with you at all times.