CVermont follows a Tort insurance system. If you are found at fault for causing a traffic accident, you and your insurance company will be in charge of paying for all material damages and the eventual medical expenses other passengers have incurred.
The state of Vermont asks all its motorists to hold, at minimum, a 25/50/10 Liability coverage and 50/100/10 UM policy:
The average insurance quote in Vermont is of $912, which is significantly lower than the $1,678 figure the rest of the country pays. Rates vary from one city to another and from one county to the other, and here are some samples: Bennington: $1,192, Essex Junction: $1,425, Saint Albans: $1,440, Brattleboro: $901, Montpelier: $1,013, South Burlington: $1,019, Burlington: $1,058, Rutland: $1,318.
The Vermont officials have put a ban on the use of cellphone devices by 16 and 17 year old drivers with less than six months of behind-the-wheel experience. No further restrictions are in place.
Vermont uses the Graduated Driver Licensing system, a concept created to allow teenagers to drive on public roads. It imposes some restrictions meant to keep them safe and minimize the incidence of high-risk situations:
The minimum fine for driving without insurance in Vermont is of $100. Moreover, 14 points will be issued against your driver’s license, so it will be suspended. Your driving privileges will be reinstated once you file a SR-22 certificate to show proof of financial responsibility.