Virginia uses a Tort insurance system, which means that if you cause an accident, you will be in charge with covering all expenses, including eventual medical bills of injured people.
Virginia is one of the cheapest states to be insured in, with an average quote of only $968, which is way below the country mean figure of $1,678. Rates may vary across the state though and, in general, the larger the city, the more its residents will pay for auto insurance. Here are some samples: $1,325 in Virginia Beach, $1,569 in Norfolk, $1,328 in Alexandria, $1,533 in Hampton, $1,411 in Portsmouth, $1,325 in Virginia Beach, $1,125 in Arlington, $1,461 in Newport News, $1,360 in Richmond, $1,565 in Norfolk, $1,412 in Chesapeake, $1,072 in Roanoke.
The state of Virginia has passed several laws regarding the use of cellphones when driving. Drivers may not engage in text-based communication while operating a vehicle. School bus drivers, as well as new drivers in the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) program, are banned from using a cellphone altogether while driving a car.
Aspiring teenagers may join the GDL program once they are 15 and a half years. By the time they get their unrestricted license, kids have several restrictions to face:
If you drive without insurance in Virginia, your driver’s license and vehicle registration privileges will be suspended. You will then get a SR-22 filing requirement for three years, charged a statutory fee of $500 and a reinstatement fee of $250.