Wyoming follows a Tort insurance system. If you are at fault in an accident, you and your insurance company have to cover all damages and pay for everybody’s medical expenses.
The state of Wyoming requires its residents to carry, at minimum, a 25/50/20 Liability policy:
Wyoming residents pay somewhat less for car insurance than the nationwide averages. The median quote in Wyoming is around $1,511, while statistics show that the other Americans pay $1,678 per year. Rates may vary from one region to another though, and here are the average quotes in some major cities across the state: $1,610 in Casper, $1,459 in Evanston, $1,586 in Rock Springs, $1,345 in Cheyenne, $1,425 in Gillette, $1,301 in Sheridan, $964 in Cody,
The state of Wyoming has taken stance against texting while driving — all text-based communication is forbidden while you are operating a vehicle. No further restrictions are in place.
Wyoming uses a Graduated Driver Licensing system, a concept meant to help teenage drivers gain hands-on experience with driving on public roads, while still keeping them safe from stressful and high-risk situations. Teenagers may join the GDL program once they are at least 15 and, by the time they get their unrestricted license, are subject to certain restrictions:
A vehicle cannot be registered in Wyoming without showing proof of insurance. If you cancel it afterwards or let it lapse and are caught in traffic, you face a fine between $250 and $750. Upon a second offense, you will be fined between $500 and $1,500 and possibly also be sent to prison for up to 30 days.