The state of Arkansas uses a Tort insurance system. If you cause an accident, you and your insurance company are responsible for paying for the medical expenses of all passengers injured, as well as property damages you have caused.
Drivers on Arkansas roads must hold at least a Liability policy of 25/50/25:
The average Liability premium in Arkansas is of $1,515, a little less than the national mean of $1,678. You can find cheaper insurance in Arkansas too, and sometimes even in large cities. The average for Hot Springs, for instance, is of $1,285, $1,432 for Little Rock and $1,119 for Forth Smith.
Arkansas has taken a more aggressive stance against the use of cellphones than the better part of the rest of the country. While it is still not one of the few states to completely ban the use of mobile devices, Arkansas has ruled that text messaging is not allowed for any category of drivers, and the use of cellphones is banned for school bus drivers and teens under 18.
Arkansas uses the GDL (Graduated Driver Licensing) system for all drivers between 14 and 18. The concept is meant to minimize the occurrence of high-risk situations for inexperienced drivers and, consequently, protect all traffic participants.
Driving without insurance in Arkansas is, according to the AR Code 27-16-301, a misdemeanor. Upon the first offense you will be fined between $50 and $250, $250 to $500 for the second one and $500 to $1,000 or a year in prison or both from the third one onwards.