The state of Colorado uses a Tort insurance system, which means that whoever is found at fault in an accident must pay for the damage and the medical bills of all parties involved.
The average Liability policy in Colorado costs $1,983, much higher than the nation-wide average of $1,678. There are, however, major cities across the state where insurance is much cheaper: $1,493 in Denver, $1,438 in Colorado Springs, $1,434 in Westminster and $1,063 in Fort Collins.
New drivers under 18 aren’t allowed to use a cellphone altogether. Texting while driving is banned for all driver categories.
Colorado uses the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system, and kids over 15 may get a provisional license. Until they turn 18, several restrictions will apply:
Violating these restrictions leads to fines, community service, license suspensions or inability to insure a vehicle.
Penalties for driving uninsured in Colorado are above average.
For the first offense you will be fined a minimum of $500 and have your license suspended until you can prove that you are insured. At a second offense you will be fined a minimum of $1,000 and your license will be suspended for four months. At a third violation you risk a fine of $1,000 or more, some hours of community service and your license will be suspended for 8 months.
Moreover, the court may add community service hours to any of the above, and you will get a SR-22 filing requirement for three years.