Get, Compare and Save Now!
Find the cheapest auto insurance quote online and get covered for less.
State By State

Florida Auto Insurance

florida state flag

Florida uses a No-Fault insurance system. Your insurance company will cover your medical expenses and take care of the property damage costs up to the limits agreed in the policy, regardless of who was at-fault in the accident. You can further sue the other party for further compensation.

Minimum insurance requirements

Florida requires a minimum Personal Insurance Protection and Property Damage Liability (often referred to as PIP/PD) of at least 10/10:

  • a minimum of $10,000 in “reasonable and necessary” personal injury medical expenses;
  • at least $10,000 to cover property damage.

Once you have been in an accident, court may rule that you also get a Bodily Injury Liability policy of at least 10/20 ($10,000 per injured passenger, but not more than $20,000 for the whole accident)

Average insurance costs

Florida average insurance is of $1,980. There are major cities in Florida where you can buy cheaper insurance, such as $1,422 in Jacksonville. Insurance tends to get much more expensive in large metropolitan areas, like $2,383 in Miami or $2,102 in Tampa.

Use of cellphones when driving

The Florida Senate has ruled that no driver is allowed to perform any text-based communication when operating a car. There is no current ban on using a cellphone altogether, provided a hands-free set is used.

Teenage driving regulations

Florida uses the Graduated Driver License system, a concept meant to gradually help teenage drivers get used to being on the road while minimizing the incidence of high-risk situations. Aspiring drivers between 15 and 17 will get a temporary license once they join the program and will be subject to certain restrictions:

  • all drivers with a provisional license must be accompanied by a licensed driver of at least 21;
  • 16 year old drivers may not drive between 11pm and 6am; 17 year old’s between 1am and 5am; the only exception is when on the way to/from work, accompanied by a grown-up with a driver’s license and sitting in the front seat.

Penalties for driving without insurance

If you are found without insurance, the Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (DHSMV in FL) is allowed to suspend your driver’s license, vehicle tags and registration for up to three years or until you provide proof of insurance. You will also be charged a reinstatement fee between $150 and $500 if your driving privileges have been revoked.

fast, easy & free no obligation quotes