Oklahoma uses a Tort insurance system — whoever is found at fault for causing an accident has to reimburse the other parties for their material losses and, eventually, take care of their medical expenses.
Oklahoma asks its motorists to carry at least a 25/50/25 Liability insurance policy:
The average insurance premiums in Oklahoma are in line with the national figures — $1,634 per year, a bit cheaper than the country-wide average of $1,678. Insurance costs may go around $2,000 in larger cities: $2,125 in Broken Arrow, $1,932 in Tulsa, $1,809 in Edmond or $1,929 in Moore. You can, however, find cheaper cities to be insured in, like Midwest City with $1,680, Lawton with $1,628, Norman with $1,640, Stillwater with $1,514 or Enid with $1,481.
There are no restrictions in Oklahoma on the use of cellphones or text-based communications. Officers are, however, allowed to pull you over if they notice you are being distracted.
The state of Oklahoma uses a Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) system, a concept meant to help teenagers drive on public roads while still minimizing high-risk situations. Two major restrictions apply to provisional permit holders:
The Oklahoma Motor Vehicle section 7-606 states that drivers who do not comply with the Compulsory Insurance Law of Oklahoma will be charged with misdemeanor. Upon conviction, you risk a fine of up to $250 or up to 30 days in prison or both. In addition, the DMV will suspend your driving privileges until all fines and reinstatement fees are paid in full and you produce proof of insurance.